About AKV

Frequently asked questions

You’re in a hurry? Here you will find a brief summary of all important information on certified translations.

What languages do you translate?

I am an allgemein ermächtigte Übersetzerin (“generally authorised” or sworn translator) for English and German.

In spite of my excellent foreign language skills, I almost exclusively translate into the German language according to the native speaker principle. This way, I can ensure that my translation is accurate both linguistically and as regards content.

I deviate from this principle for certified translations (beglaubigte Übersetzungen) into English and I collaborate with an experienced English native speaker, so as to ensure the highest possible quality.

When do I require a certified translation?

Many public authorities in Germany and abroad require an official translation of foreign documents in order for them to be recognised. Typical documents that require a certified translation (beglaubigte Übersetzung) are for example birth certificates, marriage certificates, certificates of good conduct, university degrees, employer references, salary statements, bank statements, driving licences or divorce decrees.

The certified translation of these documents can be presented to the court, the Ausländerbehörde (Foreigners’ Registration Office), universities, the Bürgeramt (Citizens’ Registration Office), potential employers and other official authorities, for example.

Will your certified translation be recognised throughout Germany?

Yes. Certified translations from an ermächtigter (authorised), beeidigter (certified), öffentlich bestellter (publicly appointed) or vereidigter (sworn) translator in Germany, are recognised throughout the whole country. The place of authorisation is irrelevant.

Moreover, you do not have to live in Berlin to hire my services.

Do you need the document as an original or does a copy suffice?

As a rule, it is enough to send me a complete copy of the document as a photo or scan by email and to then present the competent authority with the original document together with the translation. I staple together the translation and a copy of the source text, so that the original and copy can be compared with each other.

In rare cases, the competent authority insists on a translation based on the original. If you provide me with the original document, upon request I would be happy to note in the Translator’s Declaration that I was presented with the original.

Can you also certify original documents or confirm their authenticity?

No, translators are not authorised to do so. You can obtain information about the procedure at the Foreign Office:

General information in the English and German language
Frequently asked questions in German

Do you have further questions?

No problem. I would be happy to assist you. Click here to contact me.

Über AKV

Häufig gestellte Fragen
(FAQ)

Sie haben es eilig? Hier finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen zu beglaubigten Übersetzungen noch einmal kurz und knapp zusammengefasst.

Welche Sprachen übersetzen Sie?

Ich bin allgemein ermächtigte Übersetzerin für Englisch und Deutsch.

Trotz hervorragender Fremdsprachenkenntnisse übersetze ich gemäß dem Muttersprachenprinzip fast ausschließlich in die deutsche Sprache. So kann ich die Richtigkeit meiner Übersetzung in sprachlicher und inhaltlicher Hinsicht sicherstellen.

Bei beglaubigten Übersetzungen ins Englische weiche ich von diesem Prinzip ab und arbeite mit einer erfahrenen englischen Muttersprachlerin zusammen, um die höchstmögliche Qualität sicherstellen zu können.

Wann brauche ich eine beglaubigte Übersetzung?

Viele Behörden im In- und Ausland benötigen eine offizielle Übersetzung von fremdsprachigen Dokumenten, um diese anerkennen zu können. Typische Dokumente, von denen eine beglaubigte Übersetzung angefertigt wird, sind z. B. Geburtsurkunden, Heiratsurkunden, Führungszeugnisse, Universitätsdiplome, Arbeitszeugnisse, Gehaltsnachweise, Kontoauszüge, Führerscheine oder Scheidungsurteile.

Die beglaubigte Übersetzung dieser Dokumente kann zum Beispiel bei Gericht, der Ausländerbehörde, Universitäten, dem Bürgeramt, potentiellen Arbeitgebern und anderen offiziellen Stellen vorgelegt werden.

Wird Ihre beglaubigte Übersetzung in ganz Deutschland anerkannt?

Ja. Beglaubigte Übersetzungen von einem in Deutschland ermächtigten/beeidigten/öffentlich bestellten oder vereidigten Übersetzer werden in ganz Deutschland anerkannt. Der Ort der Ermächtigung ist unerheblich.

Sie müssen nicht in Berlin wohnen, um mich zu beauftragen.

Benötigen Sie das Dokument im Original oder reicht eine Kopie aus?

In der Regel reicht es aus, wenn Sie mir eine vollständige Kopie des Dokuments als Foto oder Scan per E-Mail schicken und das Originaldokument dann zusammen mit der Übersetzung bei der zuständigen Behörde einreichen. Ich hefte die Übersetzung mit einer Kopie des Ausgangstextes zusammen, sodass Original und Kopie miteinander verglichen werden können.

In seltenen Fällen besteht die zuständige Behörde auf einer Übersetzung anhand des Originals. Wenn Sie mir das Originaldokument mitbringen, kann ich in der Bestätigungsformel auf Wunsch auch gerne vermerken, dass das Original vorgelegen hat.

Können Sie auch Originaldokumente beglaubigen oder deren Echtheit bestätigen?

Nein, dafür sind Übersetzer nicht zuständig. Informationen zur Vorgehensweise erhalten Sie beim Auswärtigen Amt:

Allgemeine Informationen in englischer und deutscher Sprache
Häufig gestellte Fragen in deutscher Sprache

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen?

Kein Problem. Ich helfe Ihnen gerne weiter. Hier finden Sie meine Kontaktdaten.